Many Amps Sound Muffled.......Blanket Over Amp???

J.Luke

Inspired
Hey Guys, I know I've started a few threads but I thought this was a unique enough question to have its own thread.

Why do many of the amps sound very muffled or have the "blanket over the amp" sound? Some sound nice and open.

I've tried lowering bass and upping treble, brightness and prescence, and changing cabs with little improvement.

Is there something I can do to remedy this?

I've also tried diming the Master Volume and upping the level. These help a little but no matter what many sound muffled.

Ok, raising the level in the amp mixer block does seem to help. However, if I need that high to sound clear won't that make it hard to balance patch levels?
Also, the unit show the red light(clipping) for "main out clip" blinking on the unit when I have the level very high.
Sorry, I'm a stupid noob when it comes to this right now.

Just tell me to go sit in the corner if I'm just not making sense.

What is your chain? How are you monitoring the sound? Which IRs do you use? The amp level does not change the sound at all, it is just a digital level increase.

I had a similar experience back in the day with the Ultra. I was using a tube power amp and guitar cabinet, and I had the power amp sim and cab sim engaged. Any of this apply here, perhaps?

What is your chain? How are you monitoring the sound? Which IRs do you use? The amp level does not change the sound at all, it is just a digital level increase.
I'm just messing with factory presets........raising the level really brings some clarity it seems. I'm using a set of Maudio BX8a's

Maybe your ears get cheated by the lower level? The level parameter adds nothing. The factory presets are not level matched, so maybe you just need to adjust the amp level of each preset to match?

Try turning up your speakers, the BX8a's.
I've not had much luck at really low volume. When I turned up, the AX8 really came alive.