Just bought the Ultra - very impressed !

Barrios

I just bought the Ultra and thought it would be a good idea to share my first impressions. After all, what I read on this forum strongly influenced my decision to buy the unit and I hope that my experience can also help others who have not made up their mind yet.

I have never been a tube purist of any sort (never owned a tube head, although I have owned a number of tube preamps...). However, in the recent years (I have been playing for 20+ years, mostly in amateur fashion) my ears have been looking for that tube warmth and "sizzle" in every gear I played, particularly ever since I owned a Mesa Recto recording preamp for almost a year (very good unit, but I sold it later on because it was far too heavy and impractical for live use...)

After the Recto, I tried a couple of hand made preamps or pedals (clones actually) based on the rectifier sound. In time, digital modellers (and solid state distortion pedals) started sounding very artificial and sterile to me. This was very frustrating, because, unlike my limited experience with tube amp sounds, I am quite familiar with digital modellers and I had used them happily for a very long time. Starting with the first POD 1.0 and Flextone Mark I amp I bought ten years ago, I tried many digital modelling devices, including POD 2.0, POD XT, Digitech Genesis 3 and more recently, Digitech RP1000, Vox ToneLab and Zoom G9.2tt.

While the latter two units sounded much better than the rest, I was still unsatisfied in comparison to the tone I once obtained with the Recto (and that tone was coming through the rather sterile sounding cab emulation of the Digitech Genesis 3). I also tried older gear with built in tubepreamps, such as the Digitech 2112, but altough it sounded good live, its speaker sim capabilities were very limited. (For recording purposes, even the old POD 1.0 sounded better 2112.)