IRs from Custom 2x12" with loaded with Celestion

mrechtien

Today I took the time to start my first IR capture approach. Well, from the technical requirements it seems really easy to do. Still I don't have a final idea about the quality of the result. Some of the IRs really seem usable - other are a bit - let's say - "special" :)

I'm no tone engineer at all and my equipment isn't really full flavored either: But in the end it's you that might give me an idea about what you think. I really would appreciate that!

The setup: AXE FX II -> Solid State Power Amp -> Cab -> MXL V67i (Mic) -> AXE FX ...
I used 4 positions:
- Center/Cnt => Cap
- Cap => Cap Edge
- Middle/Mid => Cone
- Cone => Cone Edge
Two things I think I already learned: It's better to use strict standard naming conventions (sorry, next time :) ... and Mic positioning is not as easy as it seems :)

The mic might not be the best, but it has a nice feature "Dual-capsule" with bright and warm mode - most positions have been captured in both modes (but when you compare the results you'll understand, what I meant with "mic positioning not being that easy" ...
The name contains "wrm"or "brt" for warm and bright mode.

The mic was placed right at the grill - except for files ending with "1" - these had a distance of about 25 cm.
File containing top or tp are the top speaker (open back) - files with bot or bt result from the bottom (closed) speaker.

Enough said: please let me know what you thing about the IRs and what I might do different/better next time, thx!

Here it is: http://www.max-band.de/fileadmin/markus/MR-Custom 2x12 - G12H 100.zip

Forgot to mention the speaker type (and typo in subject).. Celestion G12H 100
http://www.max-band.de/fileadmin/markus/Speaker - Celestion G12H 100.jpg

To get an idea of the cab (picture from a test setup):
http://www.max-band.de/fileadmin/markus/MR_Custom_2x12_-_G12H_100_Cab.jpg

Last edited: