Help with recording...

So i am very new to recording... i have decided to pickup cubase 5.1 but am still looking at others. for recording guitar im not sure exactly what i should do.. i assume my signal line should be like this

guitar - axefx ultra - patch - axefx output 1 - (some sort of mixer or AI.. sound card?) - cubase track.

yea so clearly i dunno what i am doing... from the time leaving the axefx to when its in cubase (or other DAW) what should/needs to happen? i understand i should record dry then send it back to the ultra then back to cubase wet..... can anyone sum that process up a little? i know there are many things you can do but everything i seem to find online is about recording wet with a mic and of course not with the axe fx... thanks for the help guys!

Hello. :)

Yes, your signal line seems to be just fine,
all you need is an audio interface/audio card.
There are many to chose, firewire, usb, PCI + dock etc.
AxeFx should most likely work with any of them so it's more about
your PC or MAc and its OS, is it compatible with this certain audio interface,
I am sure you can find answer to that question within interface's specs.
As for recording, recording dry guitar signal in your DAW, then sending it to AxeFx
and then that back to your DAW (also called re-amping, there are many topics on that subject in forum)
is not the must IMO, specially if you're new to recording and you wanna start with basic recording.
For starters you could try with most simple version,
guitar to AxeFx, from AxeFx analog outputs to interface and record straight to DAW.
So all you need is an interface with 2 inputs if you wanna record stereo, XLR ones would be the best
as you have XLR balanced outputs on AxeFx as well.