Help requested with pushed / mid-gain tones

Noob here, all of a month into my Axe-FX odyssey. Overall I'm quite thrilled with my Ultra so far, and I've actually found it relatively easy to get very satisfying high-gain and clean sounds.

Where I'm struggling is with the pushed, mid-gain stuff. I'm having a hard time getting a tone with warmth, clarity, and depth to it. Mainly I've been experimenting with the Blackface and Dumble amps, and everything I'm coming up with either sounds harsh or is just kind of flat and two-dimensional, without much depth.

For a tone reference to hear what I'm going for, here are a couple of links. The first is "Building A Mystery" by Sarah McLachlan. I've always really loved the rhythm guitar tone in this song. You can hear it well in the intro, as well as in the turnaround at about 0:43.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLzjNBFcw08

And here is an absolutely sick, ridiculously good clip by the great Mark Knopfler:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gjJzlIedCuo

Hopefully those give an idea of the tones I'm going for. I'm not just requesting a patch - please teach me how to fish! I'd love any recommendations on amp / cab / drive blocks, routing, EQ, tricks of the trade, etc.

Setup: Ultra 8.07, FRFR
Guitars: PRS Singlecut Satin, Tom Anderson Classic
Styles: Classic rock, hard rock, alt rock

Thanks much!

The whole 'key' to me is finding the balance between your gains/volumes first and then the EQ. Then for 'touch up' into the advanced tab.

Pick the amp block and cab block of your choice. Set everything to noon. Get your cab setup.