Help/Advice on using FOH & Monitors in a Church Setting

nick07evans

Hello everyone! I know there are a lot of fellow Sunday worship rockers out there like me on these threads, but anyone with some advice would be greatly appreciated. Right now I am using the Axe FX II (MKII) in my church's praise and worship team. Currently, I am running Output 1 to the main mixer in the church's sound booth(FOH), and just monitoring myself with the house monitors. Unfortunately, after a couple of months doing so, I am having trouble hearing myself in the mix. I would love to have a personal monitor with just myself coming through. I'm new to the whole FRFR thing and the various uses for it.... I have looked at various brands such as the QSC K12. I hear a lot of mixed reviews on some of the FRFR speakers. All I want to do is to be able to hear myself more with out being louder for everyone else. I want to have a speaker on stage that I can control and adjust for me. I know there is a lot of info on various setups and rigs here on the forum, but I can't seem to find what I am looking for. Any ideas, reviews on speakers, etc would be great. Thanks!

You can use the out 2 LR to a amp/cab on stage and control this volume independly of out1LR (FOH) at the front. If you use a guitar cab you move the cab to the right in the chain and put a fx-block to the left of it. The OUT2 comes from where the fx-block is put. With a FRFR cab you put the fx-block to the right of the cab-block (or probably more easy use somting called copy out 1 to out 2 in I/O menu)

We use in-ears at church. Were I in your situation I would pick up an Atomic CLR and drive it from Output 2 on the AxeFX II. If you still have trouble hearing yourself in the mix with that configuration than I'd suggest working on your patches. You have to EQ your tones to sit properly in the mix.

Terry.