Getting professional grade recordings

sirus1987

Inspired
Soooo Im not a super tech savvy person and have gotten a few OK recordings with the AXE FX, mostly with lead tones, but any time I try recording distorted rhythms they always come out kinda bassy and muffled. Even when I eq things properly and it always has some undesirable qualities and doesnt fit well in the mix. Now I dont think this has anything to do with the AXE FX per se, but probably more my lack of knowledge with recording and the fact that Im just going straight into the USB port. I literally have an kindergarten level of recording knowledge and dont know anything about mastering or anything of the like. Any advice on how to get professional quality recordings? Any settings or tricks or tips on how YOUR process works would be amazing

I'm no expert either, but something seems a little strange here. Do your tones sound correct via the AXE analog outputs? If you solo the track in your DAW does it sound the same? If not, I've seen some cases where people were accidentally applying a second amp in the DAW without even realizing it. That may or may not be the case here.

How are you recording and monitoring? What software, etc?

I'm sure other more experienced users will chime in once they know what you are using, etc.

Uh, . . . so what are you recording? JUST the Axe Fx, or other instruments as well? Are you using the Axe Fx as your audio interface or something else? I'm not sure I can help, but your question is very open ended and too general.