1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Wish Front panel encoders programmable

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Wish List' started by Randalljax, Aug 24, 2018.

  1. Randalljax

    Randalljax
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    932
    Location:
    Ottawa
    one thing that is really cool
    About the AX8 is having the control knobs

    I thought I had read early on that the 5 knobs under the screen would become global and you
    Would be able to program them to any parameters you like
    Bass mid treble etc or verb mix
    Lo cut ,hi cut in cab block

    This would be great to see implemented for quick adjustment
    Of the top 5 10 user parameter
     
  2. RandyVanMartini

    RandyVanMartini
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    763
    Location:
    Ks
    +1
     
  3. Tahoebrian5

    Tahoebrian5
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2,809
    Likes Received:
    1,977
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    I believe it's already being considered. "Performance mode"
     
    Joe Bfstplk likes this.
  4. Randalljax

    Randalljax
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    932
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Ah didn’t know it was called that but
    I thought I saw it mentioned way way back when 3 was released as coming
    Soon I wonder if it still is in active development
    I guess we will see
     
  5. lqdsnddist

    lqdsnddist
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    5,545
    Would be really cool to have an option to have a user selectable knob page, or two

    Basically any assignable knob functions for any given effect all on one page

    Maybe one for OD gain, flanger depth, amp BTM, delay time, reverb mix etc

    Instead of having to go to different blocks just have all the stuff you want to adjust all in one handy spot
     
    Nunu likes this.
  6. Randalljax

    Randalljax
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    932
    Location:
    Ottawa
    bumping this up ,, it's been a while since I have heard anything about a performance mode

    any updates on this one that can be shared ,is it still in the cards?

    just curious as it would be a killer feature
     
  7. decreebass

    decreebass
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    New York
    Bump. +1 - this would be great to not have to go diving if I'm at a gig and just need to crank the gain on my amp a bit or tame the tone on my drive pedal, or maybe even set up one "page" of performance mode to the 5-band Mark GEQ.

    There's a couple neat ways this could be implemented, too.

    1) You could have the block name under the knob and push it to get to the block's main page where you could edit the various parameters.

    2) Each knob could be independently assigned; that is, knob 1 would be delay 1 mix level, knob 2 would be drive 1 gain, knob 3 would be the Amp's Mark 5-band GEQ 750Hz level, knob 4 would be Amp 1 Master Volume, and knob 5 would be Reverb 1 time. Just a for instance :)

    All sorts of things you could do with a per-preset or per-scene knob scheme...
     
    AlGrenadine likes this.
  8. Randalljax

    Randalljax
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    932
    Location:
    Ottawa
    I like option 2
    Per preset would be killer so
    You could have say Studio and Live presets for live you may want

    Gain. Level. Gate threshold
    Fx mix. Low cut. Eq on/off
    Drive mix etc etc
     
    decreebass likes this.
  9. RandyVanMartini

    RandyVanMartini
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    763
    Location:
    Ks
  10. Randalljax

    Randalljax
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    932
    Location:
    Ottawa
    I think its probably coming
    But probably quick difficult and time consuming to implement also now you have the new FM3 in the mix
     
  11. lqdsnddist

    lqdsnddist
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    5,545

    I’m sure it’s difficult, but, I think part of the point of the FM3, is the shared UI and modeling, which should allow development to be transferred across the product platforms.

    The FM3 would be an ideal form factor/usage for assignable performance knobs, and said development should easily port to the III as your working with the same encoders, display etc.
     
  12. Randalljax

    Randalljax
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    932
    Location:
    Ottawa

    Agreed The FM3 would benefit from a performance mode as well big time

    Hopefully fingers crossed it gets implemented in the next couple if month they have working on it for a long time and i think its going going to be very cool

    I wonder if the MLM and layout links
    Perform might be part of it
     
  13. lqdsnddist

    lqdsnddist
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    5,545
    Certainly would be cool as an option to have a layout bring up certain knob parameters. Certainly cases where one wouldn’t want that as well, but I think it would be cool if you had, say a layout with amp and drive channels, where you also had parameters come up for drive, input gain etc, and then if you switched to a layout with effects blocks, you knobs changed to things like delay time etc. Basically allow your choice of knob settings to relate to what your turning on/off with the foot switches
     

Share This Page