Fishman triple play is it worth the bucks ?

Stringmanipulator

Power User
Just got some gas for fishman tripleplay after watching Dominic Hardy's youtube demo, and since the threads about it
around here are a couple of years old I'm wondering if any of you guys have one and how you feel about it ..

is it worth the investment ?

afraid it's gonna be one of those things after you buy it you play around with it for a couple of hours and then it is
living its life on a shelf .. :)

but it sure seems very cool ;)

any input?

Like many of my "investments", mine has been the dust collector for about a year now. I look at it often and think about putting it to good use but then I go back to my Axe realizing that midi will never be as fast or expressive as a modeler. I'm hoping that changes someday but for now, it sits.

I had the TriplePlay Strat, which is a Mexi-strat w/ the Fishman installed. What I really liked about it is that since I'm a much better guitarist than keyboardist it makes it easier to play some parts. But what I didn't like was that it really takes some work to be able to get it to track as well as you hear in some of the demos... fast synth leads were just a mess even though as guitar solos they sound great, piano arpeggios had lots of bad notes, things like that. While I know that's mostly caused by my technique - the TP picks up every little thing you do -- I decided it wasn't worth having a Mexi-strat with the lifeless (oops, I mean noiseless) neck/middle pups.

I'm probably going to get the standalone TriplePlay unit because it sure was nice for things like horns and flute lines or piano/organ parts; things that don't require a lot of speed. You should be able to get 30 days return on it from most retailers; try it out and see for yourself.