First Axe FX Recording - Metal Clip. Look out for a usable fake bass tone!

greyanaroth

Inspired
Hey everyone!

Link: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/14629771/Axe Fx Tone Test with Fake Bass - MIXED.mp3

(I'm new to dropbox, so let me know if that link works or not!)

I was fiddling with my new ultra (which is now apparently defunkt thanks to the axe fx 2!!) and thought I'd try out a quick test to see how it would do in a mix! Notably, I also got a VERY usable fake bass sound, which if anyone wants, I'll put up the tone!

Notes:

1. Guitar - Schecter Blackjack C-7 with Bareknuckle Cold Sweats (bridge for rhythm, coil tapped for fake bass)
2. Interface - Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 (non dsp)
3. DI - BSS AR133
4. Drums - Superior Metal Foundry
5. Cabs - Guitarhack Fredman 45 & Redwirez ENGL V30
6. Amp Sims - Euro Uber & Recto New, two tracks of each, each panned hard left & right, at more or less the same gain.

There's some minor EQing on the tracks in post, some cuts and boosts here and there, nothing major. A tape saturator on the guitars group. The master chain is quite involved, with multiband, eq and tape saturation, and probably a bit of stereo widening as well (which drastically affects the tone!)

The drums are somewhat mixed, although I'm not particularly happy with the sound, especially the overheads. But they give a fair idea of how the guitars are doing in the mix. I've also included just the fake bass and the drums separately for perspective. More than the guitars, I was REALLY impressed with what the unit did with the bass! The pitch shift module does add a slight latency, but if that means I don't have to go hunting for a nice bass everytime I want to put down an idea, win win for me!

I had set it up so I monitor the DI signal going through the sound card into the rear inputs of the axe, so when reamping, I don't have to fiddle with levels and stuff! Just run the track back through the same channel, and I'm set! Pretty neat!