Do I take the blue pill... or the red pill....

Spawn2031

Inspired
Ok guys, I am a long time L6 fan but admittedly mainly because I haven't really had the opportunity to sample much of anything else. I currently have a 500x and am on the pre-order list for the Helix. I also just signed up on the wait list for the AX8. I am a gigging musician that plays mid to high gain material mostly, I go direct into a PA. My main concern overall is tone. Even though I have been an avid L6 fan for quite some time, I am ready to entertain the other options since there actually is one other in my price range. I know this might be something akin to conferring with the enemy but I want to make the most informed decision I can. I have read, at length, all of the positives and negatives about the Helix and have come here to educate myself more on Fractal and the AX8 with hopes that I get the best unit that suits me. So here is what I feel on the two units are so far...

Helix - Pros
- Ability to run multiple amps
- Scribble strips
- Nice big screen to make quick changes easily on the fly
- I know how L6 sets up their stuff so I might be able to get to something I like quicker
- All the routing options
- Sounds better than the 500x

Helix - Cons
- Tone when compared to the AXE FXII
** That should kill it right there if it wasn't for the ability to load IRs which from some of the forums on TGP have it sounding almost dead on a kemper
- All the damn bugs going on right now, yeah they will be fixed at some point I am sure but man, some of them do worry me
- Updates, so far L6 does not do free updated amps and what not. Updated features, yes but not new free sounds

AX8 - Pros (from my limited knowledge)

- TONE
- More amps than I could shake a stick at
- Scene mode (people at L6 forums are constantly asking for this because evidently it helps with there not being any drop out which switching up amp sounds, although I do not completely understand how this works)
- Updates

AX8 - Cons