Carvin TS100 users unite !

bduersch

As you can probably tell since this is post #1 for me, I'm new to the world of Axe-FX... I'm waiting for the UPS man to deliver, and in the mean time getting the rest of my rig components together. Seeing how a lot of Axe-FX users seem to go through a tube power amp -> SS power amp -> FRFR setup over the course of time, I figured that I should start with a tube power amp and my existing 2x12 guitar cabs. My first inclination was to get a Randall RT2/50 (one of my fav power amps of all time), but after a bit of reflection decided the Carvin TS100 could be a better candidate... I had one a long time ago... thought it was a great power amp for the money though a bit "flat" sounding (wasn't great for my Randall MTS rig at the time, but would theoretically be great with an Axe-FX rig).

So for those of you who are using Carvin TS100's, I have a few relatively simple questions...

1) what power tubes are you using? (6L6's, EL34's)
2) what speakers/cabs have you been using?
3) to what extent are you using any of the power amp / speaker sim on the Axe-FX in combination with the TS100?

Thanks in advance for any insights!

--B

PS-- Before anybody gives me the canned "do a forum search" response, I've done pretty much nothing but read this forum, read threads on TGP, read reviews on Harmony Central, read the Axe-FX manual, read the wiki/FAQ, and watch YouTube clips for the past 2 days. My wife's gonna kill me if I don't do something productive today (apparently "productive" is not = to "get my guitar rig in order")

I ordered and returned two TS100's just a month or so ago. Both arrived in a defective state. The first one had a smashed phase inverter tube and something wrong with one of the channels. The second one had a bad channel. Neither one got above bedroom volume. Carvin was extremely unapologetic in both cases. I recommend avoiding this latest batch of TS100's.