Can't get good recording tones, what am I doing wrong?

Steveche

I'm fairly new to the Axe-Fx II scene, as I purchased my first unit (Axe-Fx II XL) in January 2015. For live setup, the Axe + MFC101 have been a blessing, I've been running the Axe II XL --> Matrix GT1000 power amp --> Orange 4x12 cab. The tone sounds huge, like my old analog rig (EVH 5150iii), and the simplicity of the digital setup is beautiful.

On to recording:

My first attempt at recording with the Axe-Fx II XL was last night, with my band mate who has his own home studio. He's using a Mac Pro, and I believe he's using Pro Tools 11 or 12, with a Digi 002 rack. We tried 2 setups:

1) Hooking the Axe up to the Digi 002 rack via S/PDIF cables (out from axe to in on Digi002)
2) Taking the Digi 002 rack out of the equation - Hooking up the Axe via usb, and changing the soundcard to the Axe in Pro Tools.

In both scenarios, we recorded a riff, and the outcome sounded the same. The sound we are getting doesn't sound "pro". I've tried my EVH 5150iii 100w preset, which sounds really good live. I've also tried downloading a bunch of presets from the forums here and axe-change, which sound REALLY good, but when I use them, they don't sound nearly the same. The recordings don't sound terrible, but they definitely don't sound like the clips (at all sometimes), and thus don't sound "pro". Am I missing something? Or does everyone do post-processing?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, as my band mate and I spent hours yesterday trying to achieve the great recorded tones I hear all over these forums.

I have power amp and cabs turned on for recording, using an ESP LTD EC-1000 with EMG 81/85. We are trying to achieve a good metalcore tone - something like Killswitch Engage, As I Lay Dying, All That Remains, August Burns Red, etc.

Thanks!