Call me crazy but...

Hey guys. So I'm new to the Fractal Forum. This is my first post so.. Greetings Everybody!

Anyway, I was thinking about different ways an Axe FX reacts to different pickups, and it got me thinking. I would love to see a very interesting modification to the Axe in which in the input section, you can set which type of pickups you are using, giving you optimal tone for each amp. From my understanding, when the amp is modeled, Cliff references the real amp to here any nuances that are different. I mean that's kind of obvious, but that's not my point. My point is, to make sure that any guitar, whether its using an EMG or Seymour, humbucker or single coil, '57 Classics or P 90s, etc, any pickips of a vast variety of brands and styles can be plugged in and it will react exactly how those pickups should react to the real amp.

It's a dream, I know, but it would be an insane implication. Isnt it true that Cliff uses a certain guitar to listen to differences? Wouldn't that mean that some guitars would become inaccurate? Or does he do it in a way where the pickups aren't "listened" to and only the amp is heard? I guess what really makes me wonder is how he can hear what's he doing to create an amp to make any guitar work exactly as it should under any setting.

Welcome!

If your trying to adjust the same patch for multiple guitars you can use the input trim on the amp to help with that, at least concerning output You could also use a upfront EQ to mess with the emphasized frequencies. I won't make a humbucker sound like a P-90 or a strat but it'll help. For my higher output pickup I turn the trim knob down, especially for cleans.