Cali Leggy + Real Carvin Legacy Confusion

Eric T Amble

Inspired
Hi everybody,

I'm new to the Axe-Fx II (non-XL, Mark II, FW 17.04), and I figured the easiest way to migrate it into my live setup would be to start using it to simulate the front end of my (real) Carvin Legacy. But something's wrong!

I did this:
- Power amp and cab sims off in the Global menu
- Did an "Update amps defaults" and "Update Amps all presets" for good measure
- Ran one 1/4" inst. cable from "OUT1" (L) to the Legacy's effects return

I built a simple preset with just one block—AMP—and set it to "Cali Leggy". I set the block's main knobs to what I have on the Legacy's front panel (didn't touch any "advanced parameters"). So I'm only simulating the front end. Right?

Hit Standby on the Legacy, and bring up OUT1 via the front panel knob. And I get this thin, midrange-y, and harsh tone that I can't seem to dial into submission. It lacks dynamics, and the gain has an overall "distant" characteristic that I can't dial out. It sounds much more like a recording of something being played through my effects loop return. Doesn't sound like my Legacy.

So what am I missing? I've read up as much as I can, and I just don't get it. There couldn't be a phasing problem with only the AMP block... right (not sure how I would fix that anyway)?

Please help, and thanks! I want to start using this live ASAP.

Eric

I wouldn't count on the Leggy to sound like your real amp... been discussed a lot about how it's not like it, and Cliff doesn't have schematics or something.

have you tried using it with just an effect or two first, either in your legacy fx loop or just plugging right into your amps guitar input (guitar to axe to amp)? Might help to verify your levels are close with that then move up to bypassing your pre.

Ahhhh, good idea! Trying it in the loop might be an even gentler move into the world of Axe-Fx II. I'll try that at the practice space this weekend.