Best tone packs for the FM9

DonB

Hi there,

Fractal/FM9 newbie here. I'm not good at creating my own sounds, so I usually like to start with a great sounding base that I can tweak to my liking. I see that there are quite a few tone packs sold by vendors on these forums. Do you guys have experience with some of them in combination with the FM9 and which one(s) are really worth getting? It looks like the MF Rock pack and the Austinbuddy live gold tone pack offer some great sounds and flexibility, but the Austinbuddy pack is not cheap (or maybe it is if it's amazing...).

Last edited:
imo the factory presets are all the tone packs one would need, though others I'm sure will disagree, Ive owned an AX8, FM3 and now the FM9 and have not needed 3rd party vendor patches. A few hours investment in working with FM9 will be well worth it for tonal payoff. also the preset exchange is very helpful as well.
Cheers,

imo the factory presets are all the tone packs one would need, though others I'm sure will disagree, Ive owned an AX8, FM3 and now the FM9 and have not needed 3rd party vendor patches. A few hours investment in working with FM9 will be well worth it for tonal payoff. also the preset exchange is very helpful as well.
Cheers,
Thank you. I've been testing the factory presets, but I find that many are just plain amp sounds which need some reverb, delay, etc. It seems to me that some tone packs (like the MF packs) offer more "complete" guitar sounds. I've been looking at the MF Rock pack and I don't think there are many of those sounds already in the factory presets (maybe except for the Leon Todd presets), but I might be mistaken.

I've been testing the factory presets, but I find that many are just plain amp sounds which need some reverb, delay, etc.