Best IR's to buy?

Hey everybody,

Could you guys please give me some good recommendations for some IR's to buy? I bought some Redwire ones, and I have Fractal cab pack 7. I'm not looking for djent tone at all, but something that can make some good heavy tones. Something that sounds a bit loose and gritty possibly? Where I could roll of the volume knob and still have some thickness to it? Not sure if IR's have anything to do with that to be honest as I'm new to them.

If you could give me some recommendations on what to get, and what IR from a pack specifically sounds great to you that would help me. Possibly a link to buy it if it's not really obvious?

Thanks everybody

Dan

I know it's easy to get option paralysis these days with a these options. I suggest you check out recorded clips to base your decision. Obviously out of my work everyone loves CP13. It's definitely not "just a djent pack".

It's such a personal thing and a bit of trial and error to find what works for you.
If you like Cab Pack 7 I'd say look at Cab Pack 13. Both packs are excellent but sound quite different to each other.
I don't djent, I'm more hard rock/heavy rock guy with occasional metal leanings and CP13 is what works for me right now.
I do have a soft spot for that pack, it was one of the first things I bought to add to my Axe and it just suited me really well.
I find that with certain amps I get a slightly hairy mid range which I love, might be the grit you mentioned. Super versatile.

My favourite is pairing it with the Brit Pre at the moment.

Last edited:
Just to show that it's not just hype and I'm being genuine here I want to demonstrate this video I shot demonstrating how good Cab Pack 13 really is:

Pick any amp sim and any random IR from f.ex. the Alloy Aces folder and you'll get an awesome sound even without picking a specific IR that is and instead doing it randomly. And don't worry. It sounds completely different to Cab Pack 7.