Best "Amp In The Room" Counterpoint Yet?

The endless quest for the best guitar tone. Chasing the elusive tone dragon. the search is never-ending. Good luck to us all.

I love this guy's videos. He does great work, but also has a nice delivery.

I have been doing A/B testing like this for a few years, and have learned a ton about tone. I'm happier than I have ever been. The main thing that has allowed me to go wild on A/B has been the emergence of reactive load boxes and cab IRs. I went down that rabbit hole by A/B testing speaker with mic vs. load box with IR. Then I was able to move on to testing different amps vs. each other, amps vs. IRs, amps vs. models, etc. My preferences changed massively over time, but have also stabilized I think.

I still use real amps, but more as a way to tune up my models. My journey with amp vs. model allowed me to dial amps to sound like models I liked, then models to sound like amps I liked, back and forth. Now I am happier with both my amps and my models.

I don’t care if it’s an amp, a modeler, a profile, capture etc, I like hearing it out of a guitar speaker more than a monitor speaker.

Put an open back 1x12 cab near the wall and it sounds huge, put a 8” front ported monitor speaker same position and it still sounds like a monitor (realizing that isn’t optimal placement for a monitor of course)

Monitor is accurate, guitar speaker/cab sounds like the amp sitting in the room with you, because it is.

Nice thing is it’s easy to listen to my nearfield monitors when I’m tracking, want stereo etc, and when I just want to sit and jam, use the cabinet

I don’t care if it’s an amp, a modeler, a profile, capture etc, I like hearing it out of a guitar speaker more than a monitor speaker.

Put an open back 1x12 cab near the wall and it sounds huge, put a 8” front ported monitor speaker same position and it still sounds like a monitor (realizing that isn’t optimal placement for a monitor of course)