Axe PHONES out to audio?

df88

I am not too familiar with audio processes but wanted to convert the Axe's phones-out to audio. I am not that good at processing audio in recordings and was wondering if the amplified signal received through headphones can be recorded/processed directly to an audio file of equal/similiar quality.

Basically I want to take a low volume recording which is no where near clipping, amplify the signal (by changing the output1 level), and convert that to the new audio file. I wish the new track to be as if I were hearing it through the Axe's headphones when listening through my computer's audio driver. I dont know if this is possible and I dont know sheet about audio so any advice or "no that's ridiculous or wont work" is appreciated.

[Edit] Ive tried amplifying audio using Audacity and such but certain parts of the track are sctrachty while not clipping. I dont know why that is so. The Axe does not do this through headphones when I increase the volume. I think it may actually have something to do with this Bose audio setting built into my computer's audio driver (sounds nice though).

I am aware that better recording techniques will increase the overall audio level but if simply boosting the audio with Axe is possible I would prefer it.

Last edited:
the headphone out doesn't have some sort of unlimited volume just because "The Axe does not do this through headphones when I increase the volume." that output is tailored for the range of volume that most headphones are made for.

you say "certain parts of the track are sctrachty while not clipping" - what makes you say they aren't clipping? clipping where?

can you elaborate on why you want to make low volume recordings and then amplify it?

what recording program or hardware are you using to record? i think you are confusing input gain (to your recorder) and the concept of "volume." you can still create a recording that clips even if what you hear is quiet (or even on mute).