Axe-Fx III w Morningstar MC6 MKII - Looper issue

is9582

Power User
I can’t seem to get the MC6 MKII to trigger/call the Looper. I’m a noob with MIDI but Ive programmed other switches to call presets directly as well as incrementally (+ and -) as well as scenes directly and incrementally. I’m still sure it’s aomething simple I’m missing, but it sure is frustrating.

I’ve also seen videos (sure don’t think I dreamed it ) of the MC6 w v2,5 calling the tuner and displaying the tuner on the foot controller’s screen. I can call the tuner, but only see it on the AxeFX’s screen.

As info, I’m running v3.1.0 on the MC6 MKII and 1.09 on the AxeFX.

I’d appreciate any guidance to help resolve my issues!

Lee

**I posted this under the AxeFX III since I’m not sure if it’s just poor MIDI programming on my part (probably) or if some aspect of the III isn’t happy.

Hi Chris,

I set my Looper1 in settings so Bypass = CC33. And just as info, I the CC#s I assigned for the Record, Play... all trigger their respective portion, if I manually start up the Looper. I also confirmed all of the following messages were set with Channel=1

I’ve tried the Looper initial call two ways. Msg1 I had switch 4E send Type=Looper Mode on switch press, with Msg2 sending Type=Control Change, CC Number=33, CC value=0 on switch press.

In a second attempt, I had switch 3E send Type=Control Change, CC Number=33, CC value=0 on switch press, when that didn’t work, I tried the same with value=127. No joy!

Thanks again for the assistance.

Lee

I can at least confirm that this does not appear to be a bug in the Axe-Fx III. I just tested it by setting Looper Bypass to "33" and sending CC#33 with values of 0 and 127 to bypass or engage the Looper respectively.

I tested this using both the MIDI IN port and MIDI-over-USB.

Is your switch set to LATCHING? Have you tried MIDI LEARN?

Hi Matt

Thanks for the confirmation. Always good to rule out.