Axe FX 2 XL usb to Reaper problem

mak

Inspired
Hi All,

Just received my XL and hooked it up to Reaper via USB. Just to note I am a novice at both Reaper and Axe FX!
I am recording 2 stereo tracks (1-2 dry) (3-4 plenty of gain!).

The sound in the pots is great and the dry track records and plays back perfectly. But when I play back the dirty track it has the occasional (and horrible) crackle sound. This seems to be when the waveform is large, e.g. A hard palm mute chug crackles like crazy!.... :(

Can anyone help? I have changed the audio device to my local soundcard and played that back - the crackle is still there and definately on the track!

Thanks
Andy

Andy

While I don't use Reaper myself, I would suspect you've already diagnosed the problem. Likely too much amplitude for the input of Reaper. Check to make sure you aren't triggering the red digital overload led on the front of the Axe, and then on the computer end, make sure the input setting for the both the computer and Reaper have enough headroom to handle the signal you are sending. I know this is generic, and likely a Reaper user will help further, but thought I'd at least try to help.

Welcome to the forum.

Lee

Thanks Lee!

Yes I suspected initially it was to do with levels / clipping - but then i thought, hang on, Reaper is supposed to be a good program, surely it would just clip and not make a horrendous noise on the recording?

I will go and test again now, it may be that the cheap Reaper option is not going to work for me and I'll have to shell out more cash.

Any clipping should be audible while you're tracking. If it's not crackling while recording then you have some other problem.

Does it always crackle in the same spot or does it move around randomly?

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

I will go and test again now, it may be that the cheap Reaper option is not going to work for me and I'll have to shell out more cash.