Axe 2 review from a much than happy owner

dupere11497

Experienced
Ok! Here's what I know! I've been playing guitar for 23 years! My passion begun in the mid eightys where guitar heroes rule the world!! I would practice countless hours in hope of becoming the next Eddie, Vai, Satriani, Bratta, Lynch, those were my heroes! What inspired me, beside skills, technique and feeling, was the guitar tone of those guys out there!! From the very beginning, I was a tone chaser and ever was...until today!! Throughout those 23 years, I've experiment a lot regarding tone, amps, effects, I've own every amps, modelers, pedals you could imagine!!! I was something happy with my sound, but never totally satisfied!! And, while I'm not Steve Vai nor Petrucci, I have fingers and can play the damn guitar!! In 2009, I came accros and add in the Guitar World magazine featuring this blackbox claiming to be the next modeling generation or something, I then went like " Oh no, another Pod wants to be" But still, I then always try new things, so I went to take a look at the Fractal Audio Website!! Way before I listen to some sound samples, I see the price of this unit!! I remember how mad I was. Who the!"/$% this Cliff Chase think he is to sell a modeler for the price of a high end tube amp?? But at the same time, I was curious so I listen to the demos on the Fractal site!! I was impress, enough to buy a Standard the same day. It was in early 2009!! I first use my axe fx with studio monitor..I was shocked!! This was sounding like the guitar sounds I had in my head for all those years, and was never able to quite replicate with whatever gear I was using! I then bought an atomic reactor to pair with my axe fx, I was even more happy, because the sound I could get out of it was fuller because of the 12 inch speaker vs. studio monitors! And at the top of the cake, I could get the feel and respond of a real tube amp out of this digital box, I was a happy man... or I thought I was...until today!!!