Anyone else having this problem?

derker

I'm looking for the perfect poweramp solution for the Axe FX, as we all are, but I'm having a really hard time accepting that a solid state poweramp really fits the bill. Funny thing is I got to try it with a Crown 402(something or other) into stereo 4x12s and it sounded great, but I'm having a really hard time letting go of the tube mentality.

I'm really interested in the Carvin TS-100, because its supposed to be a pretty clean sounding tube poweramp. I guess it was also designed to be used with audiophile stereos or home theaters, I'm assuming there's little filtering going on within the poweramp to interfere with the full range of an audiophile setup, but I have zero experience with it so my only way to try it is to buy it first.

I guess what I would want ideally is a tube poweramp, that acts as a tube poweramp, but doesnt sound like one. I want to use the poweramp sims on the AxeFX, but I don't wanna let go of my tubes. Ideas?

One possibility is you could wait for the release of the Fractal/Atomic combo amp, which is a Tube power amp combined with a 12" speaker. It is designed to function as a clean FRFR solution for reproducing the Axe-Fx in all its glory. Similar to the high end audiophile tube power amps. If you do a search you should find lots of info here on the forum...I think they said approximately a July release date...

Yeah I've been following it. I've been reading this forum pretty heavily (anybody else refresh every five minutes? :mrgreen: ) Still, I would prefer to have a poweramp in the rack with the AxeFX as I already have cabinets. I'll be following the Fractal piece though, when they give us updates. Thanks for the reply.

derker said:
I guess what I would want ideally is a tube poweramp, that acts as a tube poweramp, but doesnt sound like one. I want to use the poweramp sims on the AxeFX, but I don't wanna let go of my tubes. Ideas?
Seek professional help. It's obviously all in your head ;-)