Is there any point in buying a traditional amp after owning a II.

I'm still a noob, having taken delivery of my Axe II on May 3, 2013. Since I've owned it, I've used it almost everyday gigging and practicing at home, and nothing else. But in July I picked a Japanese '54 RI Strat, which I am in love with and sounds great through the Axe. This is especially the case with the Fender amp models, but can tear it up through the Marshall amps as well.

However, when I played it through my '65 RI Twin, there was something very cool and simple about old school Strat, cable, amp, maybe my Maxon OD pedal in there too. It was then, despite how the Axe changed my playing life, I will always have at least my Twin.

Also, like someone had mentioned, the Axe has made me want to get a Bassman, 50W and 100W Plexis. If I came across a ridiculously great deal, I might have to jump at it. I still love the cool factor of real amps and for that am not one to sell off my tube amps. Plus it's always good to have backups!!

Good luck!!

Every gear head needs a minimum of one kick ass tube amp, Axe Fx or not. I love my Axe Fx, but there are days when I see some old school rock footage (Free, Black Sabbath, ACDC...) that I just want to plug my SG into my Marshall and crank it up. I plan on keeping it that way, variety is the spice of life. :)

+1 nothing beats ringing a les thru a marshall and 4x12, gassing bad for a YJM, happy with yours?

Before I bought the Axe-FX II, I had about 15 amps in my stable, including a Mesa Mark V 1x12 Combo. I kept two tube amps, because you just have to have an amp. I have a Fargen Blackbird and a Mesa TA-15 with a Forte 1x12cab.

The Mark V? Definitely no reason to keep that with an Axe, unless it's your only amp. It is a Swiss Army knife amp.

+1 nothing beats ringing a les thru a marshall and 4x12, gassing bad for a YJM, happy with yours?