laptop just died :( now the question is mac or pc? to use w/axe and for recordings

adildo

Inspired
laptop died and i need a new one urgently :(. would like opinions about mac vs. pc and i know its a never ending debate but need to make a decision quickly. need a computer that can be used for recordings/productions as home and possibly live as well with the Axe fx? (seen people using AE live for adjustments on the fly). Would also be interested to start using software such as ableton during concerts as well.

I've been using cubase with the same old windows laptop for the last 5 years! everyone has been recommending Mac to me for so long and i never got around to getting one due to price. is it really worth it ? thanks guys

If you're planning to use if for concerts OSX is surely the way to go in terms of stability. For everything else though, I'd always go for a pc.

You are right, it's a never ending debate and the various feedback you get, you can expect to be biased depending on what the author has settled on. Reviews are good but in many cases, they don't give you both sides of the story. As far as the Axe goes, it doesn't matter. AE is available for both platforms and works the same either way. I would say your choice should be made weighing most of the consideration on two things; 1.) MONEY...for one thing, a Mac is more expensive. 2.) Your DAW. How much muscle do you need? (again, money and learning curves)
>Do you already know the Mac operating system? Will you need to use this computer for anything else?...(word processing, games?)
>Would you ever need to run your DAW software on your "other" computer?
>What capabilities do you need in a DAW? There are many resources on the internet to help you make this choice. Wikipedia lists basic information about all of the popular DAW's on the market.
Digital audio workstation - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia