Port City OS2x12 + Matrix GT1000FX - My Thoughts

Sean Ashe

Power User
I recently acquired a Port City OS2x12 (loaded with V30s) and all week I've been running my Axe through the Matrix and then the Port City. Here are my thoughts:

There's not much else to say except that I am absolutely blown away and can't fathom 'upgrading' to anything haha. I've been using the Matrix GT1000FX for several months now through a late 70s/early 80s Marshall Cab, and it was wonderful. But my friend (and fellow Axe FXr) Marcus Rezak brought over one of his Port City cabs to my house and I knew I had to have one. The clearest and most articulate guitar tone I have ever heard. This past week I got my hands on my own Port City cab and have been in tonal ecstasy ever since. I have played through various cabs in my short time as a tone seeker, and the Port City slays them all, in my opinion.

The Matrix works just as you'd think, imparting no coloration to the tone and just being well...power! Which is awesome \m/ And then the Port City just brings any and all tones of mine to life. I plan on taking a whole afternoon next week and taking IRs of the cab at all mic positions possible (unfortunately I only have one mic, which is an SM57, but it will do the job of course!) so that way I can get the sound of my cab 'in the box'. If anyone has any IRs of their Port City cabs I would truly appreciate if you could send them my way :)

But yea, these are just my thoughts and I guess a 'review'. I suggest anyone looking for a poweramp to look into Matrix because their stuff is quite excellent, and then if you like running through a cab, I suggest Port City, because they OWN!

Hope you find these words helpful, if you have any questions about my specific setup please don't hesitate to ask!

Thanks for the review, Sean! As if Robboman's review wasn't enough to make my G.A.S. pangs bad, this just sends it over the top! MUST... HAVE... THIS... CAB!!! :love-struck::eagerness: