Accepted a new job - need advice

Not all of us on here are professional musicians and some of us have boring professional jobs.

I work in the chemical manufacturing industry and accepted a new job last night (better pay, benefits, etc.)

Aside from a difficult boss, there's nothing wrong with my current job and I've become good friends with my immediate colleagues.

I want to tell them about my impending departure so that we can transitioning my stuff around.. but I have not yet put in a 2-week notice, or been cleared for hire for my new job.

I know they would appreciate the heads up, but at the same time, it would become very awkward if my offer doesn't actually materialize (very slim chance) or if the news leaks to other departments.

Curious to know what the consensus is here.

Word to the wise: Don't burn your bridges until you've crossed them.

IOW, don't send out a email notifying your colleagues of your departure until you've received the green light on the new job. That way, you won't look foolish if you've said goodbye but realized the new job hasn't hired you yet.

You need to have the offer letter in your hand signed ready to send back. Fully confirmed would be even better.

I’ve even had that situation blow up (about 6 years ago) which put me into early retirement, thankfully 😅

You should give your employer notice as much as you feel comfortable with; 2 weeks is minimum.

Take some time off between jobs if you need to.

Good luck!

Not all of us on here are professional musicians and some of us have boring professional jobs.

I work in the chemical manufacturing industry and accepted a new job last night (better pay, benefits, etc.)

Aside from a difficult boss, there's nothing wrong with my current job and I've become good friends with my immediate colleagues.

I want to tell them about my impending departure so that we can transitioning my stuff around.. but I have not yet put in a 2-week notice, or been cleared for hire for my new job.