Would you find a modeling pickup useful?

Per

(To mods: Please delete this post if this is not acceptable here. It is about something that might be turned into a business but isn't currently one. I work as a software engineer at Google.)

We're all fans of modelled guitar amps and effects. If a modelling guitar pickup of Fractal-esque quality existed, would you be interested in using it?

I have some ideas for how to build an ultra-low noise guitar pickup that is hi-fi enough to work as a platform for very high quality pickup simulation. It could simulate pickup types and pickup positions (bridge, neck, some combo, phase flip etc). Form factor wise, it would be installed in the bridge pickup slot, come in tele, strat and HB versions and look more or less like a normal pickup. No permanent modifications to the guitar or ugly external gizmos. It will probably require a special guitar cable which connects to a small stompbox with a jack output. The stompbox could potentially have a midi out that sends messages when knobs move on the guitar if people are interested in that.

Compared to similar existing products, I think the two main selling points are higher sound quality and that it works on any guitar, not just ones that are built for that system.

This does not currently exist. Making it a reality would be a pretty large undertaking so before I invest too much into it I'm trying to see if more people than just me would be interested in using such a thing. What do you think? No?