Line 6 Helix Reviews Are Starting to Appear...

Line 6 has got enough of my hard earned money in the past and has left me disappointed EVERY single time./QUOTE]

For me it was only one time with the POD HD. But every other piece of equipments has serve me well and i have only great things to say about them!

It's pretty funny how everyone just assumes the Axe FX will sound better before it's even been released to the general public. I have plenty of experience playing with IEM's and mic'd up tube amps and the sounds I've heard so far sound really natural to me. I would tweak them sure but they sound realistic. For the record they sell Kemper at Anderton's and they also compared it to that. I for one will be trying the Helix out in person before I decide if it will work for my needs or not.

The Fractal/Kemper success was naturally going to inspire Line6 to raise their game...

The Helix is going to be enough for many guitarists who are into modeling units. You can tell by a few of the demos that the tones are in there.......when folks get a chance to dial it in themselves & use their favorite IR's, I'll bet it will be very good. Even if it's not exactly Fractal/Kemper good.

It also looks to have the best UI out there, almost every routing option you could imagine, 8x8 USB audio, scribble scrips, IR loading, gorgeous screen & simple intuitive onboard workflow.

The Helix being a great success will be good for us all. At the very least a new bar will be set regarding expected UI & routing options going forward......

I have said before, I want it to be good....because we all benefit from competition......But I have to wonder. I am a tech guy and I know many here are lightyears ahead of me- I stopped 12 years ago. Anyway, that is a ton of functionality ---so the first thing that comes to mind for me is................reliability....we'll see of course.