Questions about the FM9 before purchasing

911ap

Hi all. Just joined this forum. After a long hiatus with guitar I decided to recreate my entire set up to reignite the fire. Basically sold everything and started fresh. Currently have a Friedman BE-100 deluxe with a Friedman 4x12 cabinet running through a Ibanez PIA.

I'm conflicted on what to do with effects. Trying to decide if I should go with the FM9 or run all analog with pedals. I know fractal claims they can accurately reproduce any pedal, I have no experience to verify that. Figured this forum would be a great place to find out.

I don't use that many effects. Mostly if I use a flanger or phaser it's for Van Halen songs. Therefore, the evh flanger/phaser would be what I would want to recreate. For a distortion or boost pedal I'd probably only use a TS808 or SD-1. I typically like to get my distortions from the amplifier vs effects. For the delay I would be looking at recreating the echo plex. For the chorus I'd want to simulate the clone chorus and the boss chorus. Wah probably a cry baby and a whammy I figure is straight forward.

The rest of the stuff like an eq pedal, a noise suppressor, tuner, etc.... I figure doesn't matter that much, whatever fractal has I'm sure will be more than adequate. Essentially, I'd want to run all the switches as individual pedals and basically use the FM9 as a very clean pedalboard just for effects. Not really into the modeling but I'll probably try it to see how close it can get to actual amplifiers. Hey if it can recreate a jcm 800 or super lead perfectly I'll use them.

I do also have a synergy set up coming with a couple syn 2's that have the IICP+, vai, Soldano, and uberschall modules which is another reason I am less concerned about the modeling aspect of this unit.