work flow strategies

golfnut

As I am brand new to the FM9 and nearly new to modelers in general, I'm trying to plan my board as far as work flow\functionality. Right now I've got it set up in a basic way just so I can use it at rehearsal and a couple gigs coming up in the next couple weeks.
Currently I have taken an empty bank. On the first switch I have a blackface rhythm, setting, second switch a black face solo setting and the third and fourth switch similar settings for plexi-50. I have another bank, I did the same thing with deluxe reverb. To each of these amp settings I added fx as needed.
How I would like to do it is to Have a few different amps set up in a bank and for each amp have some fx available that I can turn on and off for each amp like a traditional pedal board. I suspect this is done with scenes. But I have no idea how to use scenes. Is there a tutorial I could watch or read that would show me how to do this? I know I should really take the cooper master class and eventually that's my intention. Its probably going to be a month or 2 before I have the time to just sit down and focus on mastering the FM9.

Last edited:
Thank you. I'll look for that.

Would it actually be Rosh Roslin?
That’s the guy! It’ll definitely get you started in a big way. It’s awesome, informative, and free. Cooper Carter’s class (if you choose to purchase it) goes much further in depth and into all of the things you probably have no idea that the unit can do. I started with Rosh and then did Cooper’s.

The manual has a nice write-up describing how Fractal’s environment works. See p. 15 for an overview of scenes and channels, then sections 5, 6 and 10 for more details.

Also, the Footswitch Functions Guide is a must read to understand the depth and flexibility of the foot switches.