Vocal Advice - New Band Wants Me to "Belt it"

Rane

Experienced
I just started practicing with the band at my church as a backup vocalist. I've never done harmonies before - I'm really trying to expand my skill-set - so this is all new territory for me.

My issue is that they don't give me the songs to practice before-hand. They all have about 20-30 years experience on me, and they expect me to show up to rehearsal and and sing a 3rd above the lead whether I've heard the song before or not. I'm not used to practicing this way. I'm the kind of guy who really needs alone time with a song before I feel comfortable with it. They're telling me to just adapt, which I'm trying.

Part of the issue is the range they're asking me to sing in. Most of the parts are right at the end of my comfortable range. I've been singing long enough that I can sing my highest notes consistently without stress, but I usually will have to spend a bit of time getting a high part down before it feels truly effortless. With the way we're practicing, I'm having a hard time hitting my high notes at all.

Anyway, I'm wondering what you guys think of this. I know part of it is that I'm inexperienced, but I'm also unsure of this kind of approach to rehearsal. I feel like I'm jumping off a cliff having not even checked to see if my parachute is in place.

to sing a harmony part without knowing the song at all is difficult. if you know the melody at least, it might be a normal expectation to be able to sing a 3rd above as a backup singer.

as far as the range thing, in my philosophy, generally speaking i don't need the harmonies to be belted, just present. many times i'll go complete falsetto when singing backup, even if it's in my chest voice range, just to not overpower the lead. but i'll try to support it so it doesn't sound weak. or i'll eat the mic a bit more.