Transferring a preset - for dummies

9-42

Hi, noob here, just unboxed my FM3 so very new to all this and not massively tech savvy so go easy on me.

I've downloaded a LT preset from a thread on here and want to install it on my FM3, but don't know where to start.

I have a Mac.

I have the .syx file on my desktop.

I have downloaded both FM3-Edit and Fractal Bot.

This is where I run out of knowledge and talent, what do I do next? Do I need to use a cable? Bluetooth? What software do I use to get from A-B.

I really could do with a step by step, assuming I know nothing other than computing basics.

Thanks in advance!

Have your FM3 connected to your computer via USB, start up the FM3 and open FM3 Edit, click on Tools > Manage Presets. Once that window opens, click on the 'Manage' button and then drag and drop the preset from your desktop to the slot you want it in.

Ok, thanks - I've managed to get the presets into the FM3, except there's no sound. If I move the previous preset, I can hear my guitar, but if I move back to the two I just downloaded, either the mono or stereo version, I get silence. Forgive the screen grab, the forum would not let me post a link, thinking it spam.

Screenshot 2022-10-24 at 20.46.23.png

I'm not sure what the third file is but it would not let me access this as a warning came up in FM3-Edit saying it was a 'user cab', whatever that means.

Any clues?

The 3rd for file looks like an IR (Impulse Response - a captured speaker)... And that probably explains no sound.

You need to load that into one of your User IR slots and then select it in the Cab block.

The same goes for any IR that might be needed for that preset. Put it in the recommended User Cab slot. It's the one that the Cab block is using.

Thanks, and please forgive my lack of knowledge or experience - what is a User IR slot, how do I load it and how do I select it in the cab block?

I thought it would just be a case of selecting the preset and away I go.