String buzz - rolling off the highs?

inkeyes

Inspired
Im finding that I get really quite noticable string buzz when using alot of clean patches on the ultra.
Mainly with my strat, iv tried it through other amps and units and the buzzing is barely audible.
Its not really a problem with the guitar, its setup pretty well IMO but i think its a case of, A. its a strat (notoriously difficult to eliminate all buzz) and B. some high end on the ultra.
Iv tried rolling back my tone and volume controls on the guitar and it helps a little but then i start to get a bit muddy.
I think it just requires some pinpoint lowering of certain frequency.

What do you think? Any recommendations of what sort of frequency to lower? how to go about it etc?

Im really new to this so the answer isnt obvious to me, hopefully some of you guys have had this problem yourselves and have an answer that will help.

thanks

Hi

The solution to fret buzz is typically not an Equalizer, but here goes.

Use the Parametric EQ. Try a peak in band 4 with high Q and negative gain. Sweep the frequency to take out the offending range.

Also consider having your guitar worked on by a reputable tech.

I was going to point out the same thing... if you get string buzz, don't try to "fix" it with the Axe... instead, get that guitar looked at and get rid of the string buzz.

If you don't hear that buzz with other gear, it might simply be because the Axe is so much more revealing of the true tone coming out of your guitar (and depending on what speakers you drive with your Axe, the output may extend to a much broader frequency range than your other gear).

If there *is* no string buzz, but you're getting sound that sounds like string buzz, then look at your patches and their signal chains... the Axe itself does not create any artifacts that could sound like string buzz (unless you're doing something wrong).

Daniel