Re-visiting "Turbo Lover" synth

The most recent discussion I've found on here regarding recreating the various guitar synthesizers from Judas Priest's Turbo Lover can be found here:
https://forum.fractalaudio.com/threads/is-it-possile-to-get-roland-gr700-synth-tones.64642/

I followed Simeon's advice, since working the synth block is so foreign to me and stuck with using a flanger on the guitar sound for now. Tweaking the Jet Flanger factory preset got me a lot of the way there, mixed with a sawtooth trem for the choppy bits. Sounds fairly close, could probably be "eh good enough" for a bar show.

So, looking for advice on helping to push me closer. The thread linked above is from almost a decade ago so I'm not sure if the modern blocks have anything to help achieve any of these things that are holding me back. I'm a complete newb to things like LFOs and ADSRs and etc, so if anything jumps out as a thing to try, please let me know. I also have 2 expression pedals I can use.
-Currently I'm unable to control when the sweep starts and where. In the song it goes from low to high and sits on the high a bit (followed by a 2nd low to high sweep). But in my attempts, it kinda varies where in the sweep it starts at. Useable in a live situation but might as well see if there's a way to make sure it starts at that low point and go up from there.
-On the recording it goes through the low to high sweep then holds on the high, then a second (octave?) goes through the sweep. Then when the song starts it seems to go through a low to high sweep kinda like how I have it set.

If the flanger controls aren't precise enough, could there be an alternative way to achieve this, ie with a synth block and controlling the sweep with like a pitch block or arpeggiator, etc? I'm expanding into territory I have no familiarity with, making non traditional guitar noises.

So if anyone has any advice let me know, definitely would be a cool sound to be able to replicate.

Thank you!