New Member - Need convincing!

Breenbear

Hi everyone!

I'm a new member and still haven't purchased an Axe FX II despite reading about it for months! Just wanted to ask if you think it would be a good purchase for me!

I am a professional guitarist in the UK - playing mostly for musicals either on tour or in London. Most of the time this requires a silent pit so the guitar would be going direct to the desk. Currently I have a Pod HD 500 which is ok but not amazing. This is where I am thinking the Axe would prove to be worthwhile. I would also be looking to add a Matrix power amp for other gigs where I can crank it. I have a couple of Mesa wide body 1x12 thiele cabs to run through - anybody have experience of what this may sound like? Also going to keep my Rocktron All Access to control Axe as it seems to be a decent pairing.

I would need to get rid of my current rack to help pay for this new set up. It is a Mesa triaxis/2:90 with TC G major for effects. I like the sound but the weight is a real issue and most of the time just sits in the corner not getting used! (anyone want to make me an offer?! :) )

Sorry for the long post! Just wanting some insight from all you experienced Axe users! Looking forward to contributing to this great forum!

Cheers, Breenbear

Take a week off work and read the posts on this forum going back the past 6 - 12 months.
All the convincing you need is right there.

I used to have an HD500, I no longer have. The difference in my opinion between the HD500 and the AXE FX II is night and day.

Just look at all the people, including players who could use anything who are now using the AXE FX II in some shape or form and I think it speaks for itself. For a pit situation it is perfect.

There is at least one user on the forum using a Matrix with Mesa Thiele cabs who has reported excellent results.