My DAW research

Yeah I'm well aware of Hackintosh, but to be honest, there is no problem running PT9 under W7. We aren't planning the move to HDX until next year, at which point PT10 HD should be out for W7 as well. As I've switched to Cubase. there are no Mac-only apps left. All of my VIs migrated to W7 without a hitch.

As far as Cubase, man it ROCKS! I could never go back to Logic now.

Just a curious question so please don't take this the wrong way. I totally get the move to PC. The thought of being able to pick and or change/replace components and do so at a reasonable price is very enticing indeed but doesn't using Pro Tools kind of lock you in the way Mac does? I'm not a Pro Tools user so I don't know if this is true. It just appears to me that when someone uses Pro Tools they are kind of locked into all the Avid products (digi etc.).

Just a curious question so please don't take this the wrong way. I totally get the move to PC. The thought of being able to pick and or change/replace components and do so at a reasonable price is very enticing indeed but doesn't using Pro Tools kind of lock you in the way Mac does? I'm not a Pro Tools user so I don't know if this is true. It just appears to me that when someone uses Pro Tools they are kind of locked into all the Avid products (digi etc.).

Pro Tools 9 and the current Pro Tools 10 is no tied to any specific hardware. But then you have to deal with avid, unfortunately.