M-audio fast track pro......help newbie!

Tezzor8

OK, firstly I'm new to this stuff....I want to record using my m-audio fast track pro into pro-tools.....at the same time I want to listern to the guitar through my amp.....so, I have output 1 connected to my amp & then use output 2 into the fast track pro insert 1 - is this correct so far? When I try this however, I cannot get any audio from my PC or using the headphone out of the fast track pro? Am I correct in that you can go straight from the axe fx into the fast track? Or do I need a power amp i.e. axefx->poweramp->m-audio insert? And why the bloody hell is audio not getting into pro tools ahhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!! Oh, how the mountain looms...! Does anyone use the m-audio faxt track pro with the axefx into protools and would be willing to help here? I'm sure the answer is easy.........when you know how. Thanks.

Ok, I don't have a Fast Track Pro, but here are a few thoughts:

1-) No, you don't need a power amp between the Axe and the Fast Track
2-) Try the Instrument input on the Fast Track, not the Insert
3-) Make sure you set the Instrument input to Line (Inst/Line button pushed in)
4-) Play with the Gain knob until you get some signal
5-) Once you have the above working, start resolving the other issues (Headphones out should work immediately, Pro Tools is another can of worms completely... but it CANNOT work until you get 1 through 5 resolved).

Thanks for the reply...

On the fast track pro (from here on the FTP!) the insert is the instrument input....this has two inputs for guitar, insert 1 & 2 (on the back panel)
I have tried both setting, line & insert - makes no difference?
Athough, I have discovered that the insert connector appears faulty! With the guitar output jack (from the axefx output) plugged all the way into either insert on the FTP (as it should be)
no signal is transmitted? However, if I push this only 3/4 in, I get a signal!! So much for m-audio gear!