I cant hear what I'm playing.....

MackieFX

Experienced
Ive been attempting bass for a couple months now and no matter what I try on the axe I just cant seem to hear what Im doing.

Let me explain......

I posted a thread about not hearing the fundamental of bass notes a while back, this actually wasnt the problem. The actual problem is that Im hearing overtones far more than the note Im playing, and its driving me INSANE!!!

I was playing some 5ths earlier today and I could swear to you that some of them sounded like tritones to me. Bass in tune, bit of dirt on it, and the notes I was playing I was just not hearing. My ear training skills I would consider above average and to know Im playing one thing and hearing another is infuriating.

Can anyone help me out here? Is it EQ/Cuts/Cabs/The bass

Im so lost

What are you monitoring through and does it have a low enough frequency response to properly reproduce the fundamental?

Distortion adds harmonics, so if your monitors have a weak low end you can end up hearing the harmonics more than the fundamental.

If your room is untreated, it could also be room modes or standing waves messing with you too.

EQ for bass can really help bring it out.

- low cut to remove energy that can be smashing your compressor (~30Hz)

- clear room for the kick (high-pass 30-60Hz)

- remove mud / boxiness (scoop 200-500Hz)

- add definition / articulation (~4kHz)

- remove excess freq (low pass ~8kHz)

- compress : limiter to catch peaks into a softer overall compressor.

- add distortion to generate harmonics in the upper register

What are you monitoring through and does it have a low enough frequency response to properly reproduce the fundamental?

Distortion adds harmonics, so if your monitors have a weak low end you can end up hearing the harmonics more than the fundamental.

If your room is untreated, it could also be room modes or standing waves messing with you too.
Using a7x in untreated room, which is a huge issue.