High Quality Mic Preamps

Jerry K.

Experienced
So here's the scenario. I have been using the Ultra at home for about 8 months. I love how it sounds through my Atomic Wedges which receive their signal from the quarter inch outs. I use the XLR' outs to feed my Digi 003 which sends the signal into Pro Tools. The sound I get in Pro Tools is different than what I hear from the Atomics. I monitor through JBL LSR4328 studio monitors which sound pretty flat. I recently went into a high end studio and fed a Neve Console from the XLR's of the Axe FX and it sounded fantastic, there was a noticeable difference. My question is should I just use the quarter inch outs to bypass the 003 Preamps or will the Axe Fx benefit from running through high quality Preamps. I know mics will benefit but I was not sure about direct guitar?

Thanks

The axe is designed to be ran into a line input whether you are using the xlr or the 1/4". That should really bypass the pre-amps in any interface/mixing board. It sounds like using the Neve Console, the "tube" or "analog" artifacts that it added, gave you the feel that you loved.
I would use 1/4" if that's the only way to bypass the Digi Pre's. No sense in adding unneccessary processing to the signal ya know?

Your studio experience was enhanced/colored by the Neve far more than anything else.

Everything you put in your signal path affects everything.

Thanks for all the input! This is what I suspected. If I am using the XLR outputs of the Axe Fx, how do I bypass the mic pres on my 003?

on my m-audio I had to make an XLR to TRS and then put it in the 'insert' jack to bypass the m-audio preamps

I also had to move the 'tip' wire to the 'ring' and the 'ring' wire to the sleeve with the other wire that was already there to make it work
(mind you it did work with the cable before i did it......so I'm a little lost there but I read somewhere else to do this and it makes sense cause the 'ring' is the return)