Help updating firmware

ndc31

Hi eveyone,

I'm finally trying to update my ultra and having a great deal of pain. I've searched quite a bit on this forum and couldn't find the information that I was looking for.

First of all here is what I'm using:
- Windows XP
- RME Fireface800 as the midi port
- MidiOX
- 1 midi cable that goes from out port of ff800 into the in port of Axe

Everytime I hit the sysex send function, my computer freezes. I've tried different midi librarian software and it's the same case. My computer itself is quite new and I've done several large projects on CUBASE and it has never frozen like this before.

Mind you, this is the first time that I'm dealing with MIDI functions of this sorts.

Can anybody out there help me out? What am I doing wrong or is it smiply an issue with my computer?

Again, be gentle please with the ligno because I'm very new to this midi bus.

HELP~!

have you tried using the new editor to do it ?
I did my first update yesterday with it and it was a breeze, mind you i just got my axe in like 2-3 days ago.

edgeofdarkness said:
have you tried using the new editor to do it ?
I did my first update yesterday with it and it was a breeze, mind you i just got my axe in like 2-3 days ago.

Did you require 1 or 2 midi cables?
And also, the same thing happens when I try the new editor.

I'm not sure if the RME Fireface800 is one of the known reliable ones or not (you can check in the sticky). But I would strongly suggest you find and download the most recent drivers for it. Most of the time, issues are immediately resolved once you have proper drivers.

You said you tried different Midi librarians? Have you tried SendSX? It has been extremely reliable for me. Mind you, it will not work any better than MidiOX if the issue is with the Midi interface or its drivers...