Headphones for AX8 Recommendations

mlongano

Hello everyone...I am new to the Fractal, and am on the AX8 wait list. I play at home only, and intend to play through a CLR active wedge. When I need to be extra quiet, I would like to play through a comfortable set of high quality headphones.

Since the AX8 does not have a headphones outlet, can someone tell me what I need to purchase as an adapter, and recommend a brand and model of headphones in the under $250.00 USD range? Thanks in advance for your help.

Blue MoFi.

Beyerdynamic DT880. If you can swing a good headphone amp, get the 600 ohm version. I'm sure the two lower resistance models are as good.

ATH AD900x

Super comfy, and really airy and neutral sounding, and gives a great soundstage, which is perfect for modeling stuff. You also don't need an amp to drive them. I love my pair. :)

Thanks everyone who has replied...I should have mentioned that the biggest problem I have with headsets, is simply how hot my ears get after about ten minutes!! Are any of these recommended models made of materials designed to keep your ears relatively comfortable?

Thanks everyone who has replied...I should have mentioned that the biggest problem I have with headsets, is simply how hot my ears get after about ten minutes!! Are any of these recommended models made of materials designed to keep your ears relatively comfortable?
The ones I recommended(ath ad900x) are open back and can be worn for hours without your ears sweating and getting hot. In fact, one of the main reasons I got them was because the cans I was using before(shure srh440) made my ears hurt after only 30 minutes or so.

That's one of the big problems with the popular closed back cans out there(ath-m50, Sony mdr 7506, etc.) is that they clamp down really hard on your ears, which is bad for long periods of listening. That's just my experience anyways.

Hope that helps.