FX 2 and ART Ultrafoot X-15 basic question

ItsDave

Hello,

Just got an X-15 from eBay. I'm a noob to Axe and Midi.
If the X-15 is in preset mode, and it's on MIDI channel 1, and the FX2 is on MIDI channel 1, shouldn't the preset up and down buttons on it change the presets on the FX2? I saw where someone with an FX3 said he had to change the Program Change (PC) to ON, which I have.

I've searched for this, but it seems this is the one thing that seems to work right away for everyone else...
I have the manuals for both, they are open and I'm reading them I promise!

Thank you!

Well, I did a factory reset on the X15, went in to the CTRL of the FX2 and hit ENTER on one of the options (Looper Rec i think) so the "learning" thing was flashing and started hitting some buttons on the X15. Nothing. I don't think they're talking to each other.
MIDI out on the pedal, MIDI in on the FX2.
I mean, that should work, right?

That should work but Learn only applies to CC messages not PC.

When you're in preset mode on the X-15 and you press a button, does the midi light on the front of the Axe Fx blink?

Midi out from X-15 to midi in on Axe Fx.

Make sure the midi cable is correctly aligned on both jacks. There is a little notch on the jack and connector but some cheap cables do a poor job on that.

Thanks for the reply! That made me look... The cable wasn't in all the way.
It wasn't blinking like you said, I didn't even know it was supposed to.
The brand new 10' midi cable I got from Guitar Center today has a big rubber boot starting about 7/16" away from the end and it was bottoming out on the back panel of the FX2. I tried one of two the short 5' cables the guy gave me with the Ultrafoot and it worked. Those ends are small diameter metal for about 1-3/8" away from the end.
Thank you sir!

edit - I know the GC cable is good because I shoved it in harder after I saw the unit was working and it also worked.
I'll file some rubber away or get another cable.