FM9 demo videos

golfnut

I've watched many FM9 videos as I made my decision to purchase one. There were some that sounded great, which helped influence my decision. Although its really tough to give compressed videos credibility. So in the end its somewhat a leap of faith based on the many reviews I've read. I'm not really afraid of the common opinion that they are hard to learn. I've been an IT professional for 30 years and am use to complicated technology. The real challenge for me is to over come laziness and impatience. I tend to be impatient when it comes to playing with my gear. I like to turn it on, adjust a couple knobs and away I go. Now I have to spend the day at work with technology, then come home and work on this.
One thing I noticed with many of the video reviews\demos that I don't like is many players have these settings that are heavy with delays\reverbs and ambient sounds. To me a lot of them don't even sound useful in a live setting.
My philosophy with effects is using them so sparingly they hardly sound like they are there. With compression I have always had a love hate relationship. My Cali 76 CD with its blend knob has half the signal blended dry. So its their slightly but most of it mixed out.
My Boss DM2 I use only for slap back and again the mix is very light. Just enough to thicken the sound but not to sound like rockabilly. My drives are mid to low gain, nothing high gain. The most noticeable effects is a Nana pog for octave, which I might use once or twice a night and a Diamond memory lane for long delays, which again used very sparingly when needed. With the FM9, at least initially I just want to replicate this. I want to have 3 quality sounding amp types (Vox AC30, Fender blackface, Marshall Plexi) and rely heavily on the quality of amp sounds. Of course there will be some simple delays involved, compression. Mild over drive and mid gain. But thats about it.