Downloaded presets

golfnut

Inspired
For presets that are downloaded are they pretty much ready to go with minimal tweaking or do you really have to mess with eq\settings. Being a newbie I just wondered.
I noticed that the Neal Schon presets were available on the Fractal site "Gift of tone" section so I downloaded it out of curiosity. At some point I'll import it to my FM9 when I receive it.

In my experience with stuff from Gift of tone or professionally programmed presets from Austin Buddy etc. I usually have to do some mild eq tweaking. Everyone’s monitoring system and ears are different. Same goes for stuff from Axe change.

For presets that are downloaded are they pretty much ready to go with minimal tweaking or do you really have to mess with eq\settings. Being a newbie I just wondered.
I noticed that the Neal Schon presets were available on the Fractal site "Gift of tone" section so I downloaded it out of curiosity. At some point I'll import it to my FM9 when I receive it.
NO-Just like the GREAT factory presets, some tweaking is normally involved for your setup and taste.

It always depends on what the person did use to dial in the preset.
It depends on guitar, speakers headphones etc.
So if you download a preset which is dials in with a different speaker, it will sound different with your setup.

Most presets I’ve downloaded including the GOT’s didn’t sound good to me but I was able to dial them in. I’ve had the best luck with Burg’s stuff and some from Leon Todd. Mostly I just save effects and dial in my own amp blocks and use my own IR’s.

Imo they mostly can't be, and if they are, its blind luck. Why?, because they are dialed in with someone elses guitar, room, monitoring system, and hands - not yours. Having said that, the good ones (ie AB, MF) are fantastic starting points for whatever tone you're after, and are an excellent way to learn techniques for dialing in your own.