Desktop powered monitor recommendations?

Ledvedder

Inspired
Hi everyone! I'm new to the Fractal world, and I'm looking for some recommendations for desktop powered monitors. I'm mostly going to use the Axe for home practice, recording, etc. with my computer. I currently have a pair of Kali LP6 monitors that I've used with my Fryette power station and amps, into my DAW. But I've always felt that they should sound better. https://www.kaliaudio.com/lone-pine-studio-monitors#page-5d70bbe86a06240001e46bd0

Maybe it's because they're only 6" monitors? I don't want to spend a ridiculous amount of money. How are the Yamaha HS series monitors? Any other recommendations are welcome.

In my experience, the Kali LP6 significantly outperform anything in their price range, and I prefer them over Yamaha in terms of accuracy. However, before you start putting more money into speakers, do you have any acoustic treatment in your room (not just pointless 1" thick foam pieces)? Upgrading speakers won't help much if the reflections are drastically altering what you're hearing.

Focal is great but they are a French company so make sure they have an authorized repair facility near where you live otherwise you'll be paying for shipping as well as the repair if they fail (one of my Alpha 65s failed and the closest repair facility was in Los Angeles).

Last edited:
Hmm, maybe I'll just have to work on the settings with my Kali LP6's. Everything seems overly bassy from my Axe FX.

I have the Kali IN-8’s. They work great. Presonus Sceptre is another option in the medium / med high price range.

If you are getting too much bass on your presets.

Likely explanations can be..

Too high master volume settings. Notice it defaults at 5. Almost no tube amp you want to be cranking that loud in a room.

Your choices in IR. If you pull up a IR with a single royer 121, going from a single SM57 IR, it will feel like a blanket was put over your tone.