cant get a 12ma - 15ma better anyway?

bluffalo

I can't get a hold of a FBT verve 12ma. the closest distributor to me says DECEMEBER.

but, I can get a 15ma. Has anyone tried both? is it just going to be bigger and louder and more expensive?

any reason not to get it?

I haven't tried both but bigger and heavier would be problems for me. The 12ma already weighs like 40lbs. I wouldn't want to go bigger or heavier.

Another thing to consider: some deep experts will say that a 12" driver is much more suitable for guitar tones than a 15" driver (search the forum, look for posts from Jay). I'm no such expert and therefore can't comment on that, but I remember clearly ruling out 15" drivers because of the very strong opinions stated about that.

Having said that, at least one user on the forum recently acquired a 15mA and reported good things about it. Can't remember who it was, nor do I know if that user got a chance to hear a 12mA to balance his view.

Daniel

Anecdotally, I used to run a pair of JBL 10" Eon speakers as a keyboard rig onstage. They were loud, punchy, and had a nice low end to them. I figured 15" Eons would be even better, and got a pair. No comparison, the 10" Eons were terrific, the 15" was not in the same league.

Sometimes the right driver in the right enclosure is just perfect.

Where are you located? Who told you the 12MA are out till Dec?

Zzounds got me the QSC K10 in 3 days. Just arrived yesterday and I had a softball game last night, so I haven't had a chance to form a helpful opinion on it, but it seems like a noteworthy (and available) alternative to the Verve line.

If you would consider the 15ma than weight/size isn't an issue for you so don't rule out the QSC HPR122i by all accounts it sounds just about as good as the 12ma plus it has a better warranty.

geetarman said: