Building a new patch from scratch

philclcc

I'm a fairly novice guitarist though I've been playing for a long time and more or less always used Multi-FX pedals (Line 6, BOSS, even a Zoom) so have never really learnt how all the pieces of kit come together to make a guitar tone like I guess you would if you only had an amp for 6 months, then bought a drive pedal and just had that for 6 months etc.., plus my ears aren't that great so I find it difficult to determine the difference between settings and how they would apply musically in a mix.

So, I'm determined to make the AFX work for me but am struggling to get the sound in my head into the box, I've had a look around the forum and the wiki but can't see any tips on building a patch from scratch.

For example, I guess you would start with an amp and a cab (I'm building using earphones and play live using FRFR) but how do I know which amp and cab combination will work for me? There are so many variables and combinations it can be overwhelming!

Any tips?

what are the amp sounds you want to hear?
clean? overdriven? Metal?

start with one amp and cab (shunt the first four blocks, give yourself some room to work. go to the wiki, find the amp section, there is a list of typical cabs to use with the amp. once you get this set up, select an effect. place it in front of the amp. Play and listen. Move it behind the cab, listen. which sounds better?
add another effect and do the same thing. It so too easy inside the axefx.

one thing i do on ocasssion, i search thru the presets for a sound i like, study it, then develop a similar effect (of effect group) in my preset.

Mike Snider said:
what are the amp sounds you want to hear?
clean? overdriven? Metal?