beginner question

frozen alice

hey guys, new here. quick question...Which power amp do most people recommend to be use with the axe fx?? I have heard vht units are awesome. Also, does the axe fx have spillover or is it able to be programmed in each effect even once the effect has been switched via the footswitch??

I'm using a VHT, and it sounds great. Highly recommended. :D

Also, as a relative newbie, I can confirm the spillover works just fine, between patches & within patches.

S6300378.jpg

I recommend getting a powered speaker or two. If not, VHT, Carvin, Mesa are commonly used.

You should read up on spillover on the wiki or search here on the forum, because it's a little tricky to get the spillover to work. It's not hard, just not very intuitive to everyone.

I wouldnt get the VHT.

There fantastic amps, BUT

The Axe doesnt need a valve power amp. a decent flat response Solid State one is fine. In fact is better IMO as all valve Power Amps do colour you sound a a more or lesser degree.

If you already have a Valve Power amp like the 2:50:2 or Messa 2:90 fine - use that. If you dont - then dont waste the money. Get a Solid State amp.

The 2 ways of going are FRFR (full range flat response) that will require a powered speaker with a flat reesponse. Common models are QSC HPR 122i, QSC K12, FBT Verve 12ma, RFC 322a/522a/722a. This will give you the sound of a mic'd up cab - which can take some getting used to. Its great if you play in venues where the band is normally mic'd on stage - OR if you play along to backing tracks. The 2nd way is a Power Amp and Cab. This is more limiting in terms of sound options as your realying on the sound of your cab (a closed back 4x12 is never going to sound like an open backed 2x12 for instance) - BUT - does sound like a real amp/cab which is somewhat comforting if thats what you used to.