AXE FX 3 - Routing External Pedals

DNAPPS

I tried searching to forum to learn how to route external pedals, such as my strymon timeline, Hologram Microcosm, etc, through the AXE FX 3...and could not find anything that specifically addresses how to set this up in AXE EDIT or where to run the cables into. I'm new to doing this type of thing on my device so if anyone could point me in the direction of a video or can explain how to set this up that would be much appreciated!! Thanks!!

In the grid between your other blocks, insert Out 3 connected to In 3.

Connect 1/4” cables from Out 3 to your external pedal, and from your pedal connect 1/4 “cables from the output to In 3.

Bypass the In 3 block to turn off your pedals.

It’s in the owners manual:
42951BC8-0F95-4D22-9B6C-BCBA39D3FBB2.jpeg

Connect 1/4” cables from Out 3 to your external pedal, and from your pedal connect 1/4 “cables from the output to In 3.
Should I place the (Insert Out 3 > IN3) after the speaker cab in Axe Edit? If I'm dealing with time based effects and reverbs I'm assuming this is where it should go but just wanted to make sure! Much appreciated for the guidance!

Should I place the (Insert Out 3 > IN3) after the speaker cab in Axe Edit? If I'm dealing with time based effects and reverbs I'm assuming this is where it should go but just wanted to make sure! Much appreciated for the guidance!
That’s a normal place to put them, but you can do whatever you want.

Wouldn’t adding a connection create a parallel dry path (which may be desired, but not necessarily)? In other words, for a serial connection wouldn’t you just add Out 3 and In 3 and NOT connect them (since they are connected outside in the Fractal device via the external pedal)?

That’s a normal place to put them, but you can do whatever you want.
Agreed with Chris on this. And I'll add that it's worth experimenting with the placement since it's so easy to do. I discovered that putting a wah after the cab block was really interesting.